Sonata No. 1 ("The Viennese") (2018)

for solo guitar

Download the score for free/"pay what you want" on my Gumroad shop page

First Performance: Launde Abbey, Leicestershire in 2018


My Sonata No. 1 ("The Viennese") is the first of a series of solo guitar sonatas based on historical/regional styles. This sonata is subtitled "after Matiegjka" because its three movements employ the general compositional language of (as well one or two direct quotes from) the classical period guitarist and composer Wenzeslaus Matiegka.

movement II
movement III